An Update!

An Update!

Is this tech life really for me?

Pheww!

The craziest thing just happened and I don’t know how to feel! I decided to write an update article on my hash node after a long time and what I normally do is to first make lots of scribbles, write down lots of ideas on the word page and then later rearrange it into something more meaningful before transferring it to hashnode. Well, guess what!? I opened my laptop to nothing; I couldn’t find the article I worked on the WHOLE NIGHT! I know the first thing on your mind as you read this is why weren’t you saving it and I promise you I was saving it or at least I thought I was. Turns out that my WIFI was not connected, and because my settings were always set to auto save, I didn't bother to manually save. Anyways the point is I lost the whole write up and I’m quite livid, I tried to remember everything I wrote, but my mind blanked out on me. I was going to ditch the whole thing but what good would that be? So here I am, pushing through it. FIGHTING!💪 (if you're a k-drama fan, you should get the gist on the last word lol).

Exactly 3 months I wrote my last article on here which happened to be my first too, I know I should do better; please don’t come for me!😩 Before I dive in, allow me dust up in here because it’s been a hot minute y’all and a lot has happened since the last time I wrote on here. This article is mainly to catch y’all up on what’s been going on in my tech journey because believe me people when I say it’s been an extreme ghetto.

What I have been up to! 👩‍💻

The last time I was on here, I shared going on a 30 days journey to learning data structure. Well, I didn't completely follow through on it, though I did for the most part. Moving on, I was able to attend my first GDG event, DevfestAbuja2022, which also happened to be my first ever tech event, and I was ecstatic to be there because it was truly THE EVENT! At the event, I met a lot of amazing people, and the event perfectly captures the power of community and the impact it has on your tech journey. The highlight of the event for me was meeting Ada Nduka Oyom, I literally didn't know how to act because I had been a member of the SheCodeAfrica community since April 2020 and had always dreamed of the day I would meet Ada face to face and finally it happened and believe me y'all I was star strucked. I also met other beautiful people such as Goddy Samson and the various amazing speakers who spoke so well that I still reminisce on some gems most of them dropped that day. All in all, it was an incredible event that I am so glad I attended.

download.jpg

I also started being intentional with my contribution to open-source projects and generally getting better and deeper understanding of what it is to contribute to open source projects. I have also extended hand to helping other people that are clueless to open source contribution get a better understanding on how it works so they’re able to make their first contribution.

Since the DevfestAbuja2022 event, I've also attended two other amazing tech events: SheCodeAfrica potluck with Ada, where we had an intimate meet-up with Ada as she stated how important it is for her to stay in touch with grassroot and I really love how intentional she's about the community and its growth because it's easy to lose sight of the most important thing the core of a community, which is the members. I also volunteered as the event's social media manager at the Women TechMakers Power Panel Abuja, which was a great experience.

What's on my mind🤔

In case you didn't know, I have a baby community called Techies Haven; I say baby because it's still a new and growing community, and I've recently been loving up on it and brainstorming ideas on how to keep the community afloat and get more people onboard(if you've read to this point, kindly click on Techies Haven and join the family🤗). I'm also still job hunting but I'm hopeful that there's a click before the year is over because this baby girl needs money! Finally, it's the holiday season, so I'm looking forward to lots of fun, relaxation, happiness, and gratitude for a good year.

Cheers🥂 to being consistent with putting out articles on HashNode. Thanks for reading this article and on till my next article, bye!

Quote of the week!✍

While you might be doubting yourself, someone else is admiring your strength. - Motivational Lines

Happy Reading!

Twitter Handle